SCL International Medal

The second “SCL International Medal” will be presented at the 9th International SCL Conference in Auckland, New Zealand in November 2021.  The SCL International Medal was first awarded at the 8th International SCL Conference in Chicago in 2018, where the recipient was Sir Vivian Ramsey.

There are two stages prior to the awarding of the medal.  The first one is for each SCL to nominate a person (or persons) to receive the medal.  The second stage is for each SCL to vote for the recipient of the medal.  SCLs are, for these purposes, to act through their Chairs or Presidents or their nominees.  

The rules for the SCL International Medal are non-prescriptive as to the criteria for the award of the medal.  The requirement is simply that the recipient be someone who is adjudged “to have made a major contribution to construction law internationally”.  The rules do not prescribe any sub-criteria for the achievement of this standard, and each SCL is free to approach the matter in a manner it considers appropriate (including by developing its own sub-criteria).  It may be emphasised, however, that the SCL International Medal is focussed upon a person who has made a major “international” contribution to construction law, as opposed to one which has been made wholly within a particular jurisdiction.

Invitation to Nominate

In January 2020, SCLs were invited to nominate a person (or persons) for the anticipated 2020 SCL International Medal. Several SCLs did provide nominations of candidates for the medal.  However, with the emergence of the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 conference has been postponed to November 2021.

Accordingly, the process for nominations will be extended into the early part of 2021.  Nominations already made will be ‘kept on file’, although SCLs are free to update or revise their nominations, should they wish to do so.  A renewed invitation for nominations will be made again in early 2021, in the lead up to the November 2021 conference.

Julian Bailey
SCL International Medal Co-ordinator

1 May 2020